OFF 2015 Winners Announced

The Oxford Film Festival presented a special Achievement in Film award to Tim Blake Nelson on Saturday at the Lyric Theatre along with numerous awards to filmmakers.

Nelson praised Oxford and Mississippi in his acceptance speech and predicted that Oxford Film Festival will be the festival of the south.

The Lisa Blount Memorial Acting Award was given to David Strathairn and Brian Lee Franklin for the short film Repeater. Director Wade Vanover accepted the awards on their behalf. 

"Our 12th year exceeded our expectations," Executive Director Molly Fergusson said. "It was our smoothest running festival and we had a great times with such guests like James Franco and Tim Blake Nelson." 

Hoka award winners for films in competition were: 

Animation: Proximity by Joshua Cox 
Honorable mention: Jinxy Jenkins lucky Lou
Experimental: a Perfect Day by Oguzhan Kaya .  
Honorable mention: It Goes

Mississippi Music video: A Long Journey by Shannon Cohn

Mississippi short films 

Casey Spradling Memorial Award for Short Mississippi narrative: Garage Sale by Meaghin Burke 
Honorable mention: A Horror Movie. Directed by Glenn Payne.

Short Mississippi documentary: A Mississippi Love Story. by Robbie Fisher
Honorable Mention: Leadway, directed by Robbie Fisher and Dudley Percy Olsson.

Best Documentary Short: The Forgotten by David Feldman 
Best Narrative Short: Day One by Henry Hughes

Special Recognition Awards:
The Department of Signs and Magical Intervention: Best Ensemble cast
Ed is a Portal: Best depiction of tentacles emerging from a brain pan

Documentary Features: 
Grand prize: Billy Mize and the Bakersfield Sound by William Saunders 
Honorable mention: Oil & Water

Narrative Feature: Burnout by Lydia Hyslop

We will announce the Ron Tibbett Audience Award after the festival on our website. 

The schedule for all films at the Oxford Film Festival is live at and printed programs are available throughout town.

To learn more, visit A full listing of the festival jury is also available at and bios of panelists and jury at

Sponsors for the 2015 Oxford Film Festival include Donna Ruth Roberts, Blake Tartt III, Visit oxford, Malco, Southern Documentary Project and the Yoknapatawpha Arts Council.